ushouse

Starting on January 3, 2017, the 115h United States Congress will officially begin. Meet the new “freshmen” and learn more about their platform and experience.

House of Representatives:

There are 50 new members of the House of Representatives with two seats still pending. Both pending seats are in Louisiana.

Jodey Arrington (R): http://www.jodeyarrington.com/

  • District: Texas 19
  • Background: Businessman and Texas Tech Vice Chancellor

Don Bacon (R): http://donbacon2016.com/

  • District: Nebraska 2
  • Background: Brigadier General, U.S. Air Force

Jim Banks (R): http://jimbanks.us/calledtoserve/

  • District: Indiana 3
  • Background: State Senator; Lieutenant, U.S. Navy

Nanette Barragan (D): http://barraganforcongress.com/

  • District: California 44
  • Background: Hermosa Beach City Councilwoman

Jack Bergman (R): http://www.bergmanforcongress.com/

  • District: Michigan 1
  • Background: Lieutenant General, U.S. Marine Corps

Andy Biggs (R): http://biggsforcongress.com/

  • District: Arizona 5
  • Background: State Senate President

Lisa Blunt Rochester (D): https://lisabluntrochester.com/

  • District: Delaware at-large
  • Background: State Labor Secretary, CEO Metropolitan Wilmington Urban League

Anthony Brown (D): http://anthonybrown.com/

  • District: Maryland 4
  • Background: Lieutenant Governor; State Delegate; Attorney; Colonel, U.S. Army

Ted Budd (R): http://tedbudd.com/

  • District: North Carolina 13
  • Background: Businessman

Salud Carbajal (D): https://saludcarbajal.com/

  • District: California 24
  • Background: Santa Barbara County Supervisor

Liz Cheney (R): http://landing.cheneyforwyoming.com/thank-you/

  • District: Wyoming at-large
  • Background: Executive Staffer

Lou Correa (D): http://www.loucorrea.com/

  • District: California 46
  • Background: State Senator, Orange County Supervisor, State Assemblyman

Charlie Crist (D): http://www.charliecrist.com/signup/

  • District: Florida 13
  • Background: Governor of Florida, Attorney General, Commissioner of Education

Val Demings (D): http://www.valdemings.com/

  • District: Florida 10
  • Background: Chief, Orlando Police Department

Neal Dunn (R): https://www.nealdunn.com/

  • District: Florida 2
  • Background: Surgeon, Major, U.S. Army

Adriano Espaillat (D): http://www.espaillat2016.com/

  • District: New York 13
  • Background: State Senator, State Assemblyman

John Faso (R): https://johnfaso.com/

  • District: New York 19
  • Background: State Assemblyman

Drew Ferguson (R): http://fergusonforgeorgia.com/join-team-today/

  • District: Georgia 3
  • Background: Mayor of West Point

Brian Fitzpatrick (R): http://www.brianfitzpatrick.com/

  • District: Pennsylvania 8
  • Background: Special Agent, FBI

Matt Gaetz (R): http://mattgaetz.com/

  • District: Florida 1
  • Background: Member of Florida House of Representatives (District 4)

Mike Gallagher (R): http://www.mikeforwisconsin.com/

  • District: Wisconsin 8
  • Background: Businessman; Veteran, U.S. Marine Corps

Tom Garrett (R): https://www.tomgarrettforcongress.com/

  • District: Virginia 5
  • Background: State Senator; Captain, U.S. Army

Vincente Gonzalez (D): http://www.vicentegonzalez.com/

  • District: Texas 15
  • Background: Attorney

Josh Gottheimer (D): http://josh4congress.com/

  • District: New Jersey 5
  • Background: Government staffer, Speechwriter

Trey Hollingsworth (R): http://www.votefortrey.com/

  • District: Indiana 9
  • Background: Businessman

Pramila Jayapal (D): http://www.pramilaforcongress.com/

  • District: Washington 7
  • Background: State Senator; Founder, OneAmerica

Ro Khanna (D): http://www.rokhanna.com/

  • District: California 17
  • Background: Deputy Assistant Secretary of Commerce

Ruben Kihuen (D): https://rubenforcongress.com/

  • District: Nevada 4
  • Background: State Senator, State Assemblyman

Raja Krishnamoorthi (D): http://rajaforcongress.com/

  • District: Illinois 8
  • Background: Businessman, Deputy State Treasurer

David Kustoff (R): http://www.kustoffforcongress.com/

  • District: Tennessee 8
  • Background: U.S. Attorney, W.D. Tenn.

Al Lawson (D): http://www.allawson.com/

  • District: Florida 5
  • Background: State Senator

Jason Lewis (R): https://join.jasonlewis2016.com/

  • District: Minnesota 2
  • Background: Radio Talk Show Host

Roger Marshall (R): http://www.kansansformarshall.com/

  • District: Kansas 1
  • Background: Obstetrician; Captain, U.S. Army

Brian Mast (R): District: http://www.mastforcongress.com/

  • District: Florida 18
  • Background: Explosives Specialist; Staff Sergeant, U.S. Army

Donald McEachin (D): https://www.donaldmceachin.com/

  • District: Virginia 4
  • Background: State Senator, State Delegate

Paul Mitchell (R): http://paulmitchellforcongress.com/

  • District: Michigan 10
  • Background: Chairman, Faith and Freedom Coalition Michigan

Stephanie Murphy (D): http://www.stephaniemurphyforcongress.com/

  • District: Florida 7
  • Background: Professor, Rollins College; National Security Specialist

Tom O’Halleran (D): http://www.tomohalleran.com/

  • District: Arizona 1
  • Background:  State Senator

Jimmy Panetta (D): http://www.jimmypanettaforcongress.com/

  • District: California 20
  • Background: Deputy District Attorney; Monterey County

Jamie Raskin (D): https://jamieraskin.com/

  • District: Maryland 8
  • Background: State Senator, Law professor, Author

Francis Rooney (R): https://francisrooney.com/

  • District: Florida 19
  • Background: United States Ambassador to the Holy See

Jacky Rosen (D): http://www.rosenfornevada.com/

  • District: Nevada 3
  • Background: Computer programmer; President, Congregation Ner Tamid

John Rutherford (R): http://votejohnrutherford.com/

  • District: Florida 4
  • Background: Sheriff, Duval County

Brad Schneider (D): http://www.schneiderforcongress.com/

  • District: Illinois 10
  • Background: U.S. Representative for IL-10

Carol Shea-Porter (D): http://www.sheaporter.com/

  • District: New Hampshire 1
  • Background: U.S. Representative for NH-1

Lloyd Smucker (R): http://www.electsmuckerpa.com/

  • District: Pennsylvania 16
  • Background: State Senator

Darren Soto (D): http://www.darrensoto.com/

  • District: Florida 9
  • Background: State Senator, State Representatives

Thomas Suozzi (D): http://suozziforcongress.com/

  • District: New York 3
  • Background: Nassau County Executive, Mayor of Glen Cove

Scott Taylor (R): http://scotttaylor.us/

  • District: Virginia 2
  • Background: State Delegate, Navy SEAL

Claudia Tenney (R): https://claudiaforcongress.com/

  • District: New York 22
  • Background: State Assemblywoman, Legislative staffer

**Louisiana 3 and Louisiana 4 have not been determined.**

Senate: 

There are six new elected Senators with one seat pending.

Catherine Cortez Masto (D): http://catherinecortezmasto.com/

  • State: Nevada
  • Background: Nevada Attorney; General Attorney

Tammy Duckworth (D): http://tammyduckworth.com/

  • State: Illinois
  • Background: Member of the U.S. House Assistant Secretary of Veterans’ Affairs; LieutenantColonel, U.S. Army

Kamala Harris (D): http://splash.kamalaharris.org/

  • State: California
  • Background: Attorney General of California; San Francisco District Attorney

Maggie Hassan (D): http://maggiehassan.com/

  • State: New Hampshire
  • Background: Governor of New Hampshire; State Senate Majority Leader

Chris Van Hollen (D): https://vanhollen.org/

  • State: Maryland
  • Background: Member of the U.S. House State Senator; State Delegate

Todd Young (R): https://toddyoung.org/

  • State: Indiana
  • Background: Member of the U.S> House Captain, U.S. Marine Corps

**Louisiana race not yet determined**