Starting on January 3, 2017, the 115h United States Congress will officially begin. Meet the new “freshmen” and learn more about their platform and experience.

House of Representatives:

There are 50 new members of the House of Representatives with two seats still pending. Both pending seats are in Louisiana.

Jodey Arrington (R):

  • District: Texas 19
  • Background: Businessman and Texas Tech Vice Chancellor

Don Bacon (R):

  • District: Nebraska 2
  • Background: Brigadier General, U.S. Air Force

Jim Banks (R):

  • District: Indiana 3
  • Background: State Senator; Lieutenant, U.S. Navy

Nanette Barragan (D):

  • District: California 44
  • Background: Hermosa Beach City Councilwoman

Jack Bergman (R):

  • District: Michigan 1
  • Background: Lieutenant General, U.S. Marine Corps

Andy Biggs (R):

  • District: Arizona 5
  • Background: State Senate President

Lisa Blunt Rochester (D):

  • District: Delaware at-large
  • Background: State Labor Secretary, CEO Metropolitan Wilmington Urban League

Anthony Brown (D):

  • District: Maryland 4
  • Background: Lieutenant Governor; State Delegate; Attorney; Colonel, U.S. Army

Ted Budd (R):

  • District: North Carolina 13
  • Background: Businessman

Salud Carbajal (D):

  • District: California 24
  • Background: Santa Barbara County Supervisor

Liz Cheney (R):

  • District: Wyoming at-large
  • Background: Executive Staffer

Lou Correa (D):

  • District: California 46
  • Background: State Senator, Orange County Supervisor, State Assemblyman

Charlie Crist (D):

  • District: Florida 13
  • Background: Governor of Florida, Attorney General, Commissioner of Education

Val Demings (D):

  • District: Florida 10
  • Background: Chief, Orlando Police Department

Neal Dunn (R):

  • District: Florida 2
  • Background: Surgeon, Major, U.S. Army

Adriano Espaillat (D):

  • District: New York 13
  • Background: State Senator, State Assemblyman

John Faso (R):

  • District: New York 19
  • Background: State Assemblyman

Drew Ferguson (R):

  • District: Georgia 3
  • Background: Mayor of West Point

Brian Fitzpatrick (R):

  • District: Pennsylvania 8
  • Background: Special Agent, FBI

Matt Gaetz (R):

  • District: Florida 1
  • Background: Member of Florida House of Representatives (District 4)

Mike Gallagher (R):

  • District: Wisconsin 8
  • Background: Businessman; Veteran, U.S. Marine Corps

Tom Garrett (R):

  • District: Virginia 5
  • Background: State Senator; Captain, U.S. Army

Vincente Gonzalez (D):

  • District: Texas 15
  • Background: Attorney

Josh Gottheimer (D):

  • District: New Jersey 5
  • Background: Government staffer, Speechwriter

Trey Hollingsworth (R):

  • District: Indiana 9
  • Background: Businessman

Pramila Jayapal (D):

  • District: Washington 7
  • Background: State Senator; Founder, OneAmerica

Ro Khanna (D):

  • District: California 17
  • Background: Deputy Assistant Secretary of Commerce

Ruben Kihuen (D):

  • District: Nevada 4
  • Background: State Senator, State Assemblyman

Raja Krishnamoorthi (D):

  • District: Illinois 8
  • Background: Businessman, Deputy State Treasurer

David Kustoff (R):

  • District: Tennessee 8
  • Background: U.S. Attorney, W.D. Tenn.

Al Lawson (D):

  • District: Florida 5
  • Background: State Senator

Jason Lewis (R):

  • District: Minnesota 2
  • Background: Radio Talk Show Host

Roger Marshall (R):

  • District: Kansas 1
  • Background: Obstetrician; Captain, U.S. Army

Brian Mast (R): District:

  • District: Florida 18
  • Background: Explosives Specialist; Staff Sergeant, U.S. Army

Donald McEachin (D):

  • District: Virginia 4
  • Background: State Senator, State Delegate

Paul Mitchell (R):

  • District: Michigan 10
  • Background: Chairman, Faith and Freedom Coalition Michigan

Stephanie Murphy (D):

  • District: Florida 7
  • Background: Professor, Rollins College; National Security Specialist

Tom O’Halleran (D):

  • District: Arizona 1
  • Background:  State Senator

Jimmy Panetta (D):

  • District: California 20
  • Background: Deputy District Attorney; Monterey County

Jamie Raskin (D):

  • District: Maryland 8
  • Background: State Senator, Law professor, Author

Francis Rooney (R):

  • District: Florida 19
  • Background: United States Ambassador to the Holy See

Jacky Rosen (D):

  • District: Nevada 3
  • Background: Computer programmer; President, Congregation Ner Tamid

John Rutherford (R):

  • District: Florida 4
  • Background: Sheriff, Duval County

Brad Schneider (D):

  • District: Illinois 10
  • Background: U.S. Representative for IL-10

Carol Shea-Porter (D):

  • District: New Hampshire 1
  • Background: U.S. Representative for NH-1

Lloyd Smucker (R):

  • District: Pennsylvania 16
  • Background: State Senator

Darren Soto (D):

  • District: Florida 9
  • Background: State Senator, State Representatives

Thomas Suozzi (D):

  • District: New York 3
  • Background: Nassau County Executive, Mayor of Glen Cove

Scott Taylor (R):

  • District: Virginia 2
  • Background: State Delegate, Navy SEAL

Claudia Tenney (R):

  • District: New York 22
  • Background: State Assemblywoman, Legislative staffer

**Louisiana 3 and Louisiana 4 have not been determined.**


There are six new elected Senators with one seat pending.

Catherine Cortez Masto (D):

  • State: Nevada
  • Background: Nevada Attorney; General Attorney

Tammy Duckworth (D):

  • State: Illinois
  • Background: Member of the U.S. House Assistant Secretary of Veterans’ Affairs; LieutenantColonel, U.S. Army

Kamala Harris (D):

  • State: California
  • Background: Attorney General of California; San Francisco District Attorney

Maggie Hassan (D):

  • State: New Hampshire
  • Background: Governor of New Hampshire; State Senate Majority Leader

Chris Van Hollen (D):

  • State: Maryland
  • Background: Member of the U.S. House State Senator; State Delegate

Todd Young (R):

  • State: Indiana
  • Background: Member of the U.S> House Captain, U.S. Marine Corps

**Louisiana race not yet determined**